Since the release of Toy Story in 1995, Pixar Studios has become the absolute pinnacle of excellence in animated films.

The fact of the matter is that Pixar has never produced a bad movie and if The Incredibles is any indication, they aren't about to either.

Rarely do films come along that can truly entertain and thrill any age group, but The Incredibles does just that. In fact it does so with such
energy and excitement that they make it seem easy.

Written and directed by Brad Bird, The Incredibles is about a family of superheroes that has hung up the spandex outfits for the quiet
suburban life. That is, until a super villain comes along and starts kicking up shit.

Think Fantastic Four meets James Bond and you are somewhere close to The Incredibles.

There are lots of action sequences that show off our heroes’ powers and they are all absolutely spectacular to look at.

Speaking of looks, The Incredibles is a visual masterpiece. From the vibrant and colorful animation and art direction to the breathtaking
cinematography, The Incredibles is the best-looking computer animated movie I've ever seen.

I was also pleased with the excellent and immerse sound design and a wonderfully exciting James Bond flavored score from composer
Michael Giacchino (you know him from the Medal of Honor games).

But besides the great action, visuals, and sound, The Incredibles is a great story. The script perfectly balances action, humor, and family
drama. I really enjoyed all of these characters and didn't feel like any of them were short changed or underdeveloped.

And did I mention this movie is damn funny?

I know I sound like a bit of a raving lunatic in this review, but The Incredibles is that damn good. It is not only the best-animated film of the
year, but one of the best films of the year, period. Consider it a new best for Pixar, and that is certainly saying something.

* * * *
(Out of four)

Written and Directed by: Brad Bird

Starring: Craig T. Nelson, Holly Hunter, Samuel L.
Jackson, Jason Lee, Spencer Fox, Sarah Vowell

Music by: Michael Giacchino

Released: November 5, 2004; 115 Minutes